2458_gorini_show_corrida_danse copie.jpe
ARTISTRY

Following her cultural immersion experiences abroad and her studies in Questions Internationales, Audrey Gaussiran has developed a sensitivity to socio-political issues having an impact on an individual, local and global scale. Popular uprisings, freedom of expression, feminist issues and war are all themes that inspire her and that she tackles through dance. The intention is to reach the viewer in a different way, to offer them a fresh perspective on current issues, through an alternative to traditional media.

 

In the absence of words, the expression of the body offers both a poetic and visceral vision of dance, a sublimation of the factual and the concrete.

 

The diversity and richness of Montreal's cultural milieu have had an undeniable impact on Audrey's career. Access to the teachings of masters of different specialties (flamenco, oriental, Latin, Afro-Cuban, Guinean, contemporary, tap, urban, percussive dance, ballet) allowed her to multiply her ways of approaching the body. Juggling with this amalgam of expressions and techniques, she creates a polyglot, mixed and singular vocabulary and gestural language, which decompartmentalizes these different approaches. Dancing barefoot flamenco, in order to "see" rather than hear the sound, transform an Afro-Cuban dance by extirpating exclusively the work of the upper body, transposing to the ground a traditionally vertical genre, are all experiments which allow her to transform movement.

 

In the choreographic development of a work, Audrey pays particular attention to the sound environment that accompanies her, to the "groove" of the movement, as well as to the percussions generated by her feet, by her body. A real symbiosis with the music gives way to a total contrast or a question / answer type conversation with the frame. Kimberley Cooper, choreographer of the DJD company (Decidedly Jazz Danceworks - Calgary), is moreover one of her inspirations in this type of approach.

 

Inspired by social themes, Audrey's creations are built through the use of different choreographic formats. For her, video dance, in situ performance, indoor scenic context or interactive piece using digital technology, are all mediums that offer interesting features to bring the audience closer to the dancer and fuel the reflections underlying the works (isolation in our societies, omnipresence of technology, democratization of art…).

Démarche artistique

Suite à ses expériences d’immersion culturelle à l’étranger et ses études en Questions internationales, Audrey Gaussiran développe une sensibilité aux enjeux socio-politiques ayant un impact à l’échelle individuelle, locale et mondiale. Les soulèvements populaires, la liberté d’expression, les enjeux féministes et la guerre sont autant de thèmes qui l’inspirent et qu’elle aborde par la danse. L’intention est de toucher le spectateur autrement, de lui proposer un regard neuf sur des enjeux actuels, par une alternative aux médias traditionnels. 


En l’absence de mots, l’expression du corps propose une vision à la fois poétique et viscérale de la danse, une sublimation du factuel et du concret.


La diversité et la richesse du milieu culturel montréalais ont eu un impact indéniable sur le parcours d’Audrey. L’accès aux enseignements de maîtres de différentes spécialités (flamenco, oriental, latin, afro-cubain, guinéen, contemporain, tap, urbain, danse percussive, ballet) lui a permis de multiplier les façons d’aborder le corps. Jonglant avec cet amalgame d’expressions et de techniques, elle crée un vocabulaire et un langage gestuel polyglotte, métissé et singulier, qui décloisonne ces différentes approches. Danser le flamenco pieds nus, pour « voir » plutôt qu’entendre le son, transformer une danse afro-cubaine en y extirpant exclusivement le travail du haut du corps, transposer au sol un genre traditionnellement vertical, sont autant d’expérimentations qui lui permettent de métamorphoser le mouvement.


Dans l’élaboration chorégraphique d’une oeuvre, Audrey accorde une attention particulière à l’environnement sonore qui l’accompagne, au « groove » du mouvement, ainsi qu’aux percussions générées par ses pieds, par son corps. Une réelle symbiose avec la musique fait place à un total contraste ou à une conversation de type question/réponse avec la trame. Kimberley Cooper, chorégraphe de la compagnie DJD (Decidedly Jazz Danceworks - Toronto), est d’ailleurs une de ses inspirations dans ce type d’approche.


Inspirées de thématiques sociales, les créations d’Audrey se construisent par l’utilisation de différents formats chorégraphiques. Pour elle, vidéo danse, performance in situ, contexte scénique en salle ou pièce interactive utilisant le numérique, sont autant de médiums qui offrent des particularités intéressantes pour rapprocher le spectateur du danseur et alimenter les réflexions sous-jacentes aux œuvres (isolement dans nos sociétés, omniprésence de la technologie, démocratisation de l’art…).