2250_gorini_show_corrida_danse.jpeg

Corrida

The violence of the Bataclan attacks in Paris in 2015 triggered in Audrey Gaussiran an urgent need to create. The barbarism which then affected the artistic scene gave rise to reflection on war and terrorism. This was the beginning of the Corrida.

 

Inspired by the Spanish traditions of flamenco and bullfighting, the choreographer and dancer draws a parallel between this tragic sport and war. What side to take? The great looking toreador embodying the world leader, or the rebellious bull with brute force and survival instinct? And what about the collateral victims?

In a mosaic of flamenco, contemporary, African and oriental dance, this solo explores violence, the beast in ourself, the intoxication of power, but also humanity in the darkest moments. On stage, the dancer passes from one character to another, becoming toreador, bull, and also woman, victim, on the edges of conflicts.

 

The narrative framework is supported by a scenographic element heavy with meaning: water. Source of life and death, it quenches the thirst of the bull, washes the woman's body, or becomes the blood in which the victims bathe. Anticipate, plot, persuade, fight, kill, die and rise from the ashes to start history again.

 

In a metaphorical war, the toreador and the bull fight to the death, leaving wounded souls behind. A choreographic echo of conflicts outside the arena.

Credits:

Choreographer / performer : Audrey Gaussiran

Consultant : Inka Strobl (choreography), Menka Nagrani (dramaturgy)

Costume : Rebecca Rowe

Lighting : Rachel Réard

Sound design : Joannie Labelle

with the music of Alex Cattaneo, Jorge Miguel and Daniel Stone, Two Fingers, Chano Dominguez,

Brian Setzer, Ibeyi.

The creation of this performance was made possible thanks to the financial support of our generous partners.

Logo Quartiers Danses_edited.png
Logo Ballet Hop.png
thumbnail_LogoLBPCarre.jpg

2250_gorini_show_corrida_danse.jpeg

Corrida

La violence des attaques du Bataclan à Paris en 2015 déclenchent chez Audrey Gaussiran une urgence de créer. La barbarie qui touche alors la scène artistique suscite une réflexion sur la guerre et le terrorisme, c’est le début du projet Corrida


Inspirée par les traditions espagnoles, du flamenco et de la tauromachie, la chorégraphe et danseuse tisse un parallèle entre ce sport tragique et la guerre. Quel parti prendre? Le toréador à fière allure incarnant le leader mondial ou le taureau rebelle à la force brute et à l’instinct de survie? Et les victimes collatérales dans tout ça? 

 

Dans un assemblage de danse flamenca, contemporaine, africaine et orientale, ce solo explore la violence, la bête en nous, l’ivresse du pouvoir, mais aussi l’humanité dans les moments les plus sombres. 

Sur scène, la danseuse passe d’un personnage à l’autre, devenant tour à tour toréador, taureau et aussi Femme, victime en marge des conflits.


La trame narrative est supportée par un élément scénographique lourd de sens : l’eau. Source de vie et de mort, elle apaise la soif du taureau, lave le corps de la femme ou devient le sang dans lequel baignent les victimes. Anticiper, comploter, persuader, se battre, tuer, mourir et renaître de ses cendres pour recommencer l’Histoire. 


Dans une guerre métaphorique, le toréador et le taureau luttent jusqu’à la mort, laissant derrière eux des âmes blessées. Un écho chorégraphique aux conflits en dehors de l’arène.

Crédits : Chorégraphe / interprète : Audrey Gaussiran, Oeils extérieurs : Inka Strobl (chorégraphie), Menka Nagrani (dramaturgie), Costume : Rebecca Rowe, Éclairages : Rachel Réard, Conception sonore : Joannie Labelle avec les musiques d’Alex Cattaneo, Jorge Miguel et Daniel Stone, Two Fingers, Chano Dominguez,

Brian Setzer, Ibeyi.

 
 

La création de cette oeuvre a été possible grâce à l'appui financier de nos généreux partenaires.

Logo Quartiers Danses_edited.png
Logo Ballet Hop.png
thumbnail_LogoLBPCarre.jpg