Fisheye 11.jpg

FISHEYE

Fisheye is an interactive digital work created by the collective Ctrl+Alt+Del, composed of choreographer-dancer Audrey Gaussiran, digital artist Francis Lecavalier and composer-percussionist Joannie Labelle.

 

Fisheye is a live internet performance in which dance, music and visual processing are influenced by the live responses of the virtual audience. In the form of a chat, the audience answers questions asked directly on the video, expressing their impressions, feelings, realities and thoughts.

 

First hosted on Facebook as the result of a 72-hour creative sprint organized by the Festival de Troi(e)s (May 2020), Fisheye was greatly appreciated and won the Audience Award.

 

Available in French, English and bilingual.

Context and explanation of the Work

Fisheye is a hybrid online and live performance, including dance, hybrid electronic-acoustic music, and VJ-programmer.

 

This work is the result of a 72-hour creative sprint organized by the Festival de Troi(e)s from April 29th to May 2nd, 2020. As part of this sprint, three different teams had to create, rehearse and perform a whole new audiovisual work using videoconferencing tools and live interaction with the audience. The results were presented on a Facebook Live feed hosted by the festival. Due to the SARS-CoV-19 health crisis and the resulting global isolation, Fisheye was built, rehearsed, broadcasted and performed entirely online, from Canada and Germany.

 

It should be noted that an important part of Fisheye is the integrated interactivity. During the performance, questions related to the themes of isolation, surveillance, dreams and envisions are asked to the audience through text directly shown over the video. The public is invited to write their answers in the comments section of the live stream. These feedbacks are projected and closely monitored by the three artists; they adapt and personalize every aspect of the performance (choreography, music and visuals) based on audience responses. This creative choice is directly in line with the trio's previous experimentation called Ctrl:N.

 

Each Fisheye performance is unique, as it is always shaped in a different way under the influence of the audience and their impressions.

Credits / Technical information:

Year of creation: 2020

Target audience: Teens, Adults

Duration: 30 min.

On screen:

Audrey Gaussiran (dancer)

Joannie Labelle (DJ and percussionist)

Francis Lecavalier (digital artist)

Production team:

Audrey Gaussiran (choreographer)

Joannie Labelle (composer)

Francis Lecavalier (digital artist)

Technical needs:

 

  • Live webcasting platform, from which it is possible to see live comments from the audience (YouTube, Facebook, Twitch, etc.).

The creation of this Work was made possible thanks to the support of these generous partners.

72373135_3563926376958794_43197658702314
Capture d’écran 2021-01-25 à 14.14.47.
82792107_4045640768794813_26674705152784

Fisheye 11.jpg

FISHEYE

Fisheye est une œuvre numérique interactive créée par le collectif Ctrl+Alt+Del, composé de la chorégraphe-danseuse Audrey Gaussiran, l'artiste numérique Francis Lecavalier et la compositrice-percussionniste Joannie Labelle.

Fisheye est une performance en direct sur internet lors de laquelle la danse, la musique et le traitement visuel sont influencés par l’audience virtuelle. Dans un "chat", le public en ligne répond aux questions posées pour exprimer ses impressions, sentiments et réflexions. 

Suite à un sprint créatif organisé par le Festival de Troi(e)s, l'œuvre est d’abord diffusée sur Facebook en mai 2020 et remporte le Prix du Public.

Disponible en version française, anglaise et bilingue. 
 

Contexte et explication du travail

Fisheye est une performance hybride en ligne et en direct, incluant danse, musique hybride électronique-acoustique et VJ-programmeur.

 

Cette œuvre est le résultat d'un sprint créatif de 72 heures organisé par le Festival de Troi(e)s du 29 avril au 2 mai 2020. Dans le cadre de ce sprint, trois équipes de trois concurrents ont dû créer, répéter et réaliser un tout nouveau travail audiovisuel mettant à profit les outils de vidéoconférence et l'interaction en direct avec public. Les résultats ont été présentés sur un flux Facebook live hébergé par le festival. En raison de la crise sanitaire du SRAS-CoV-19 et de l'isolement mondial qui en a résulté, Fisheye a été construit, répété et joué entièrement en ligne, depuis le Canada et l’Allemagne.

 

Il est à noter qu'une partie importante de Fisheye est l'interactivité intégrée. Au cours de la performance, des questions liées aux thèmes de l'isolement, de la surveillance, des rêves et des visions sont posées au public à l'aide d'un texte directement superposé à la vidéo. Le public est invité à écrire ses réponses dans la section des commentaires d'un flux en direct. Ce retour d'expérience est projeté et suivi de près par les trois artistes ; ils adaptent et personnalisent chaque aspect de la performance (chorégraphie, musique et visuels) en fonction des réponses du public. Ce choix créatif est directement en ligne avec l’expérimentation précédente du trio appelée Ctrl:N

 

Chaque performance de Fisheye est unique, car toujours façonnée de manière différente sous l’influence de l’auditoire et ses impressions.

Crédits / Information technique:

Année de création : 2020

Public cible : Ados, Adultes

Durée : 30 mn.

​​

Sur écran :

Danseuse: Audrey Gaussiran

DJ et percussionniste: Joannie Labelle

Artiste numérique: Francis Lecavalier

Concepteurs :

Chorégraphe: Audrey Gaussiran

Compositrice: Joannie Labelle

Artiste numérique: Francis Lecavalier 

Besoins techniques :

  • Plate-forme de diffusion web en direct, à partir de laquelle il est possible de voir les commentaires live de l’auditoire (YouTube, Facebook, Twitch, etc.).

La création de cette oeuvre a été possible grâce à l'appui de ces généreux partenaires.

72373135_3563926376958794_43197658702314
Capture d’écran 2021-01-25 à 14.14.47.
82792107_4045640768794813_26674705152784